Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)

Health Library

Achieving Excellence in Trauma Care

The Texas Department of State Health Services recently designated Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Plano as an Advanced Level III Trauma Facility — a distinction that underscores the level of care provided to trauma patients.

As one of only two hospitals in Collin County to receive the Level III Trauma designation, Texas Health Plano enables patients in the area to receive trauma care without leaving the community. The hospital is equipped with advanced technology and dedicated medical staff to provide comprehensive emergency services to patients suffering from life-threatening injuries, including falls, motor vehicle accidents and assault.

Level III Trauma requirements dictate the resources a health care facility must have in place to serve patients in emergency situations. The facility must meet standards determined by the American College of Surgeons and participate in community outreach efforts, such as injury prevention programs and other educational programs led by physicians and nurses.

To become a Level III Trauma Facility, a hospital must demonstrate a coordinated commitment among all trauma team members in the Emergency Department, from nurses and allied health care workers to board-certified, fellowship-trained trauma surgeons and orthopedic trauma surgeons. Texas Health Plano is equipped with resources for emergency resuscitation, surgery and intensive care, and has transfer agreements with leading facilities in our area, giving us the capability to transfer patients as needed.

For more information about Texas Health Plano or for a referral to a physician on the medical staff, call 1-877-THR-WELL (1-877-847-9355). (Summer 2010)

Online Tools


Helpful Info