Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)
In This Section Texas Health Stephenville


HMEC Earns Nurse-Friendly Designation

STEPHENVILLE, Texas – The Texas Nurses Association (TNA) announced that Harris Methodist Erath County Hospital  (HMEC) has emerged from a vigorous review process to earn the distinctive Nurse-Friendly Hospital designation. As one of the newest Nurse-Friendly Hospitals designees, HMEC now joins an elite group of only six Texas facilities that have earned this three-year distinction. The award was announced at a special recognition luncheon held during the 5th Annual Nursing Leadership Conference of Texas Nurses Association.

To earn the distinction, HMEC had to meet 12 essential elements of the ideal practice environment in the facility's practices, policies and culture, as defined by nurses and research. Key to the designation process, the facility's own nurses confirm through a confidential, online survey that their facility is committed to nurses, and values their contributions in its overall pursuit of safe, quality patient care.

“Harris Methodist Erath County Hospital values the expertise our nurses bring to our organization and is committed to supplying them with the resources and tools they need to provide a high standard of care,” said Deborah Paganelli, president of HMEC. “Receiving this designation validates our hospital's commitment to the profession of nurses and the significant role they play in patient safety and quality care.”

“It's certainly an accomplishment to be recognized as a hospital that values and supports its nurses and provides the kind of environment that enables them to attain the highest quality of patient care,” said Kathleen M. Light, EdD, RN, president of Texas Nurses Association. “It's even more exemplary when the facility's own nurses confirm that is so.”

About Harris Methodist Erath County Hospital
Harris Methodist Erath County Hospital is a 98-bed community hospital that provides health care for residents in Erath and the surrounding counties. As one of 13 hospitals in the Texas Health Resources system, Harris Methodist Erath County Hospital offers the compassion, respect, and commitment nurtured by one of the largest faith-based nonprofit hospital systems in the United States.

About Texas Health Resources
Texas Health Resources is one of the largest faith-based, nonprofit health care delivery systems in the United States. The 13-hospital system is the largest in North Texas in terms of patients served and includes Harris Methodist Hospitals, Arlington Memorial Hospital and Presbyterian Healthcare System. For more information about Texas Health Resources, visit

Online Tools


Helpful Info