Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)
In This Section Texas Health Cleburne


Level IV Trauma Center Designation Given to Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Cleburne

CLEBURNE, Texas — The Texas Department of State Health Services recently re-designated Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Cleburne as a Level IV Trauma Center. Texas Health Cleburne is the only trauma-designated facility in Johnson County. The designation is reviewed every three years.

Trauma is the leading cause of death for people up to age 44 and represents an estimated $5.6 billion in lost lifetime income potential, according to the Texas Department of State Health Services.

The elderly are also especially susceptible to traumatic injuries such as falls. One in three adults age 65 and older fall each year, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The CDC estimates that the direct and indirect costs of fall injuries will reach $54 billion by 2020. Ground-level falls are a major source of trauma injuries seen at Texas Health Cleburne.

Being a Level IV Trauma Designated facility enables Texas Health Cleburne to treat seriously injured patients, stabilize them and then transport the patient to a trauma center that handles higher acuity cases if needed.

“We strive to be the first place anyone in the surrounding area considers for care,” said Marvin Cloud, R.N., B.S.N., M.B.A., trauma coordinator at Texas Health Cleburne. “In an emergency, such as an injury, stroke or heart attack, minutes matter and Texas Health Cleburne is a close and convenient choice. One of the benefits of being part of a larger health care system such as Texas Health Resources is that we can see any emergency patient and, when necessary, draw on the resources of other hospitals in our system.”

“Trauma re-designation is a significant indicator of the quality of the care our hospital provides to Cleburne and the surrounding counties,” said Blake Kretz, FACHE, president of Texas Health Cleburne. “Our staff consistently receives strong results on these surveys, and that’s great news for patients who need compassionate and competent care when they have suffered trauma.”

To earn the designation, the hospital must have the necessary equipment and resources for trauma cases. Hospital staff must constantly review trauma cases, which enables staff to provide care based on the best practices of trauma centers across the country.

Also, the hospital must staff radiology, surgery and other departments to immediately treat trauma patients. Doctors and nurses must pass advanced trauma classes to provide patients with the latest procedures. The designation effort was a result of the 1989 Omnibus Rural Health Care Rescue Act, passed by the Texas Legislature.

About Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Cleburne
Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Cleburne is a 137-bed acute-care, full-service hospital that has served Cleburne and the Johnson County area since 1986. The hospital’s services include surgery, women’s services, urology, orthopedics and ear, nose and throat care. Texas Health Cleburne, an affiliate of the faith-based, nonprofit Texas Health Resources system, has been recognized with the 2007 Premier/Carescience Select Practice National Quality Award. For more information, call 1-877-THR-WELL, or visit

About Texas Health Resources
Texas Health Resources is one of the largest faith-based, nonprofit health systems in the United States. The health system includes 24 acute care and short-stay hospitals that are owned, operated, joint-ventured or affiliated with Texas Health Resources. It includes the Texas Health Presbyterian, Texas Health Arlington Memorial and Texas Health Harris Methodist hospitals, a large physician group, outpatient facilities, and home health, preventive and fitness services, and an organization for medical research and education.

For more information about Texas Health Resources, call 1-877-THR-WELL, or visit

Online Tools


Helpful Info