Texas Health Fort Worth Earns Magnet® Nursing Recognition
Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)
In This Section Texas Health Fort Worth
About Us

Certifications and Honors


  • Commission on CancerIn 2012, Texas Health Fort Worth was the first hospital in Tarrant County to earn the NICHE (Nurses Improving Care for Healthsystem Elders) designation from the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing at New York University College of Nursing. The designation, given to hospitals exhibiting a dedication to excellence in the treatment of patients 65 and over, will provide caregivers the knowledge and specialized training necessary for a more comprehensive approach to caring for the older adult population.
  • The Klabzuba Cancer Center is recognized by the Commission on Cancer (CoC) of the American College of Surgeons as an approved comprehensive community cancer program, ranking it among the best cancer treatment facilities in the country.
  • The Orthopedics program began in 1930 and was the first in Texas to be recognized for achieving excellence in the treatment of hip fractures by The Joint Commission. It is also certified in hip and knee replacement.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth received a three-year accreditation from The Joint Commission (TJC) for 2004-2007. 
  • Texas Health Fort Worth's laboratory is accredited by the College of American Pathologists (CAP) and the Health Care Financing Administration under the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act (CLIA).
  • The ABG Laboratory in the Respiratory Care department is accredited by CAP.
  • The hospital's Doris Kupferle Breast Center is accredited by the American College of Radiology and by the Federal Drug Administration under the Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA).
  • Texas Health Fort Worth is designated as a Cycle III Chest Pain Center from the Society of Chest Pain Centers for Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (PCI). Texas Health Fort Worth is also a designated an Acute Heart Failure Center. The designation signifies that the hospital has met stringent national standards for rapid recognition and comprehensive treatment of heart failure.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth is certified as a Primary Stroke Center by The Joint Commission (TJC).
  • Designated a Level II Trauma Center by the Texas Department of Health.
  • The Mabee Rehabilitation Center has a three-year accreditation from the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF).

Honors, Awards and Recognition

  • Texas Health Fort Worth was named to Becker's Hospital Review's list of 100 Hospitals With Great Women's Health Programs for 2013.
  • In 2013, Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth earned the Bronze Beacon Award for Excellence. The award recognizes U.S.-based hospital units that employ evidence-based practices to improve patient and family outcomes. 
  • For the 18th time, Texas Health Fort Worth was voted "Best Place to Have a Baby" by FortWorth Child magazine readers.
  • Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth earned the 2013 Consumer Choice Award, making it the 17th consecutive year the facility has won the award.  
  • Texas Health Fort Worth was named to Becker's Hospital Review's list of "100 Hospitals and Health Systems With Great Oncology Programs."
  • Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth was mentioned in the Fort Worth Business Press for being designated the first Emergency Center of Excellence in Texas.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth was voted highest in quality and image in the annual National Research Corporation's survey.  
  • Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth was featured in the 2012 Fort Worth, Texas magazine in an article about the city's best places to work. The article highlighted the hospital's excellent employee retention.  
  • In 2005, Harris Methodist Fort Worth Hospital received the Magnet Recognition Program Award for excellence in nursing services from the American Nurses Credentialing Center.Texas Health Fort Worth earned its second Magnet Recognition Program Award for excellence in nursing services from the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), the nation's largest and leading nursing credentialing organization within the American Nurses Association (ANA), in 2009.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth was named a Distinguished Hospital for Clinical Excellence by HealthGrades, a hospital rating company based in Golden, Colo. Texas Health Fort Worth's complications and mortality rates are considered by HealthGrades to be in the top 5 percent of the country. 
  • The Trauma Intensive Care Unit (TICU) at Texas Health Fort Worth was awarded the Bronze Beacon Award for Excellence by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). Texas Health Fort Worth, a Level II Trauma Center, is the only hospital in the state of Texas to achieve this honor.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth was chosen as a 2008-09 Consumer Choice Award winner for the 13th consecutive year in a survey by the National Research Corporation.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth was honored with the 2007 Hospitals for a Healthy Environment (H2E) Leadership Award.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth was recognized with the 2007 Hospitals for a Healthy Environment (H2E) Making Medicine Mercury-Free Award.
  • In 2007, Texas Health Fort Worth was among the first in Tarrant County to receive the American Heart Association's Platinum Start! Fit-Friendly Company award.
  • The Intersocietal Commission for the Accreditation of Nuclear Medicine Laboratories recently awarded the hospital's nuclear cardiology imaging laboratory with accreditation in the area of myocardial perfusion imaging.
  • In 2006, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) awarded Texas Health Fort Worth with its second medal of honor for achieving a 75 percent or greater donor conversion rate - when potential donors become actual donors - throughout its participation in the HHS Organ Donation Breakthrough Collaborative.
  • For 11 consecutive years, Texas Health Fort Worth was chosen by consumers as "most preferred" health care provider based on quality and image, in a poll conducted by National Research Corporation.
  • In May 2006, the Society of Chest Pain Centers named Texas Health Fort Worth and the Harris Methodist Heart Center an accredited chest pain center.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth earned four awards for its 2005 marketing and communication initiatives from Healthcare Marketing Report.
  • In 2005, Texas Health Fort Worth was named a winner of the prestigious Premier Award for Quality in the area of heart failure. This nationally-recognized award honors clinical excellence in both quality of care and operational efficiency, differentiating its winners as industry leaders that deliver outstanding patient care while reducing the cost of healthcare by improving resource utilization.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth received the 2003 ICU Design Citation Award for new construction for the David E. Bloxom Sr. Tower for critical care patients. The Society of Critical Care Medicine, the American Association of Critical Care Nurses and the American Institute of Architects sponsor the award.
  • Texas Health Fort Worth is one of only four hospitals in the nation to be named a "Top 100 Hospitals in America" six years in a row. 
  • Voted one of "Top 10 Places in the U.S. to Have a Baby" by Self magazine.
  • Won the Quality Cup Award for ER Redesign by the Rochester Institute and USA Today.
  • The hospital's Recruitment and Retention Efforts were named as "Best Practice" by the Healthcare Advisory Board.

Online Tools


Helpful Info