January 02, 2023
Critical-care advancements benefit patients at busiest trauma center in North Texas

ARLINGTON, Texas — Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth has been designated as a Level I Trauma Center. It is one of only 22 Level I Trauma facilities in Texas and the third busiest trauma center in Texas. 

Level I Trauma Center

“No one wishes to visit a trauma center for themselves or their loved ones but having a Level I Trauma Center at Texas Health Fort Worth means when a traumatic medical event occurs, we stand ready to provide quality clinical care when you need us most,” said Barclay Berdan, FACHE, CEO of Texas Health Resources. “This designation is especially critical for fast-growing counties like Tarrant and those to the west.”

Verified by the American College of Surgeons and designated by the Texas Department of State Health Services, Level I Trauma Centers, also known as Comprehensive Trauma Facilities, provide regional resources for patients who require complex trauma care. As a Level I Trauma Center, Texas Health Fort Worth provides 24-hour, in-house medical staff coverage by trauma and general surgeons, as well specialists in all other areas of surgical expertise, including orthopedic, neurosurgery, radiology, plastic, oral maxillofacial, vascular and thoracic. 

“This reaffirms we are prepared to treat critically injured patients day and night,” said Joseph DeLeon, Texas Health Fort Worth president. “We have the resources, tools and staff to care for those patients and help them get back to their daily lives. Employees and physicians on the medical staff work tirelessly across disciplines to care for trauma patients.”

Verified trauma centers must meet the essential criteria of trauma care capability and institutional performance as outlined by the American College of Surgeons' Committee on Trauma in its current Resources for Optimal Care of the Injured Patient manual.

Texas Health Fort Worth is the second Texas Health hospital to earn Trauma I designation. Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas was also designated in 2022.

“Level I Trauma doesn’t just prove our commitment to the excellent care we provide to our patients every day, but it reflects our commitment to the future of Fort Worth and the communities we serve,” said Ann Quinlan, R.N., M.S.N., TCRN, the hospital’s Trauma Program manager.

Related News

About Texas Health Resources

Texas Health Resources is a faith-based, nonprofit health system that cares for more patients in North Texas than any other provider. With a service area that consists of 16 counties and more than 7 million people, the system is committed to providing quality, coordinated care through its Texas Health Physicians Group and 29 hospital locations under the banners of Texas Health Presbyterian, Texas Health Arlington Memorial, Texas Health Harris Methodist and Texas Health Huguley. Texas Health access points and services, ranging from acute-care hospitals and trauma centers to outpatient facilities and home health and preventive services, provide the full continuum of care for all stages of life. The system has more than 4,100 licensed hospital beds, 6,400 physicians with active staff privileges and more than 26,000 employees. For more information about Texas Health, call 1-877-THR-WELL, or visit www.TexasHealth.org.  

We use cookies and similar technologies to enhance your experience on our website and help us
understand how our site is used as described in our Privacy Statement and Terms of Use. By
using this website, you are agreeing to our Terms of Use.
Accept and Close