Literature + Medicine explores compassion and science at the bedside. For the past four years, this annual seminar — hosted at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas — has offered a unique opportunity to join prominent scholars and physicians in an interactive seminar, which investigates the connection between literary understanding and medical knowledge.

Michael A. LaCombe
Dr. Michael A. LaCombe
Dr. John F. Harper
Dr. John F. Harper
Program Director

Fifth Annual Literature + Medicine Conference — Rescheduled for Jan. 22, 2015

The rescheduled 2014 Literature + Medicine event will be at Texas Health Dallas from 6 to 8:30 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 22.

Online registration

Each year this event features a prominent writer as speaker at an evening seminar. This year, we welcome Michael A. LaCombe, M.D., FACC, MACP, LHD (hon), who is the associate editor for the “On Being a Doctor,” “On Being a Patient” and “Ad Libitum” sections of the Annals of Internal Medicine. He has published more than 100 stories and essays in peer-reviewed medical journals, as well as 13 books.

A collection of his stories, Bedside: The Art of Medicine, was published by the University of Maine Press in 2010. The American College of Physicians presented the Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Scholarly Activities in the Humanities and History of Medicine to LaCombe in April 2011. He received an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from the University of Southern Maine in May 2012. He has recently been elected President-elect of the Harvard Medical Alumni Association.

LaCombe has practiced internal medicine and cardiology in Maine since 1975 and continues to work full-time.

Writing Contest

The committee of the Literature + Medicine Conference invites you — active physicians, professors, medical professionals, pre-med, medical students, residents and interns, hospital trustees and administrators — to submit a creative poem, short story and/or essay about your experiences in medicine annually for the Literature + Medicine Writing Contest. Cash prizes are awarded. This year's winners are:

Special Thanks

Dr. John Harper and the Texas Health Resources Foundation are extremely grateful to The Lupe Murchison Foundation and Dr. Bob and Jean Smith Foundation for their continued support of the Literature + Medicine conference. Without their generosity, this conference would not be nearly as successful.​​

Share this page!