Texas Health offers the following tips should you become a victim of sexual assault:
- Go to a safe place and call someone you trust
- Go to the nearest hospital with a sexual-assault nurse examiner program (see below) or call 9-1-1
- Do not change clothes but bring a change of clothes to the hospital
- Do not shower, bathe or douche
- Do not brush hair or teeth
- If possible do not eat, drink or go to the bathroom
- Do not smoke
If you have done any of the above it is OK! It is still recommended to seek medical services to make sure you are alright. A sexual-assault medical forensic examination can be done several days after the incident.
Sexual-assault medical forensic examinations can be conducted up to 120 hours after the assault if reported to law enforcement.
You may choose to do a non-report sexual-assault medical forensic examination. In other words, you do not have to report the sexual assault to law enforcement until you feel safe to do so. A non-report sexual-assault medical forensic examination can be conducted up to 120 hours after the assault. The anonymous non-report evidence kit will be held up to five years by the Texas Department of Public Safety Crime Lab.